The Sámi parlament`s art purchases and acquisitions 2020-2022


The Sámi Parliament’s procurement committee presents purchases and acquisitions for the period 2020-2022.  The exhibition contains artworks on-site at the venue as well artworks  represented digitally. Sámi Center for Contemporary Art was chosen as the venue for this important event. The goal is to unfold the creative scenery of the last few years of artistic production by Sámi artists, as well as to spotlight historically important artworks from artists working in Sápmi. Greenland is represented by one artist. The exhibition is organised in collaboration with RiddoDuottarMuseat and the Sámi Parliament’s acquisition committee.


The artworks were purchased from the exhibitions in the art venues in the Nordic region, as well as the individual artists and represent Sámi artists from Norway, Sweden and Finland. The purchasing consultants for 2020–2022 were Eva Aira and Geir Tore Holm.


The exhibition depicts the variety of narratives told by different generations of Sámi artists, brought together into the aesthetic and cultural dialogue at  Sámi Center for Contemporary Art. The exhibition provides a rich experience for the viewer due to the diversity of materialities represented through duodji, as well as the media of painting, printmaking, photography, installation, video, among others. The viewer is invited into the journey through multimodality of visual story-telling, expressions and time, all underlining the richness of the Indigenous Sámi art and culture.


The artists represented are:

Aage Gaup, Agneta Andersson, Anders Sunna, Annelise Josefsen, Anniina Turunen, Arvid Sveen, Aslaug Juliussen, Biret Haarla Pieski, Carola Grahn, Gáddjá Haarla Pieski,  Gjert Rognli, Grete Andrea Kvaal, Gunvor Guttorm, Hans Pieski, Hans Ragnar Mathisen, Hilde Skancke Pedersen, Inger Blix Kvammen, Ingunn Utsi, Iver Jåks, Joar Nango, Jukke Rosing, Katarina Pirak Sikku, Katarina Spik Skum, Kristin Tårnesvik, Lada Suomenrinne, Laila Brandsfjell, Lena Stenberg, Lena Viltok, Liselotte Wajstedt, Máret Ánne Sara, Marita Isobel Solberg, Marte Lill Somby, Mary Ailonieida Sombán Mari, Matti Aikio, niilas helander,  Nils-Aslak Valkeapää /Áillohaš, Olof Marsja, Outi Pieski, Pauliina Feodoroff, Per Adde, Per Isak Juuso, Tomas Colbengtson, Trond Ansten,  Ragna Misvær Grønstad, Rose-Marie Huuva, Silje Figenschou Thoresen, Sissel Mutale Bergh, Stein Erik Wouthi, Susanne Hætta, Synnøve Persen, Victoria Andersson,  Xan Krohn.


The program of the exhibition opening 25/02/2023 14:00:

Welcoming words by Marija Griniuk, the director of Sami Center for Contemporary Art
Presentation of the exhibition concept by Geir Tore Holm
Marte Lill Somby, SDS
Synnøve Persen participates with a poetry reading
Exhibition opening speech by the president of the Sámi Parliament Silje Karine Muotka